2012 Annual Dinner and Awards Celebration



Our 2012 Annual Dinner and Awards Celebration once again proved to be an exciting night of celebrating our industry’s successes and its outstanding leaders. This year’s dinner was also distinguished by 1,022 in attendance, which marked the largest gathering of Pennsylvania Bio members ever. A total of 10 awards were presented at this year’s dinner. A summary of Award Winners is listed below. Photos from the dinner can be viewed here.

Award Descriptions
Award Descriptions – PDF (46 KB)

Award Winners

Hubert J.P. Schoemaker Leadership Award
Warren V. “Pete” Musser, President & CEO, The Musser Group

Frank Baldino Bioscience CEO of the Year Award
Steve Tullman, CEO, Ceptaris Therapeutics

2011 Deal of the Year
Endo Pharmaceuticals and their acquisition of American Medical Systems

Scientific Achievement Award
Amy Jessop, Ph.D., MPH, Assistant Professor of Health Policy and Public Health and Director of HepTREC, University of the Sciences in Philadelphia

Federal Official of the Year
U.S. Senator Pat Toomey (R-PA) for the Senate
U.S. Congressman Patrick Meehan (PA-07) for the House of Representatives

State Official of the Year
Pennsylvania State Representative Scott Petri (R-178)

President’s Service Award
Jennifer Miller, Partner, Ballard Spahr LLP

Clarkston Scholarship Recipient
Alexander Brown, Lehigh University

Patient Impact Award
The Infrascanner 1000, a noninvasive and portable means of detecting intracranial hematoma developed by InfraScan, Inc.

2012 Emerging Leaders

Siddhartha (Sid) Bhoopathy
Absorption Systems

Kristina Broadbelt
Director, Public Relations and Advocacy
ViroPharma Incorporated

Christopher J. Burns PhD
President and Chief Scientific Officer
VenatoRx Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

Stephen Condon
Vice President, Chemistry
TetraLogic Pharmaceuticals Corporation

Jim DiCesare
VP of Global Site Services

Fran Dinuzzo

Janel Firestein
Partner, Life Sciences Industry Leader
Clarkston Consulting

Colleen Hamilton
Executive Director
Life Science Career Alliance

Angela N. Hokanson
Industry Vice President, Biotech Segment
Fisher Scientific

Thomas Kim
VP, intellectual property and AGC Corporate Secretary
Inovio Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

Gary J. Kurtzman, MD
SVP and Managing Director

Mahmood Ladha
Executive Director, Regional and Commercial Business Development

Christopher J. Laing MRCVS, PhD
Vice President, Science & Technology
University City Science Center

Angela Leopold
Partner and Government Affairs Director

Julie McHugh
Chief Operating Officer

Aeri Park
Director of Operations

Benjamin Pascal
Invisible Sentinel

Linda Pissott Reig
Buchanan Ingersoll Rand

Robert Radie
former CEO
Topaz Pharmaceuticals

Fahd Riaz
Morgan Lewis

Tom Sabia
Director, Coagulation Marketing
CSL Behring

Jason Sundberg
Senior Manager-Life Sciences Practice
North Highland

Matthew Walczer
Director of Sales & Business Development
Puritan Products

James Walker
Chairman and CEO
Octagon Research Solutions, Inc.

Chad Winter
Senior Manager

We would like to thank our sponsors:

Sponsorship Sponsor
Hubert J.P. Schoemaker Leadership Award
Frank Baldino Bioscience CEO of the Year Award
Dinner Sponsor
Dinner Sponsor
Patient Impact Award
Deal of the Year
Cocktail Reception
Scientific Achievement Award Fisher Scientific
Emerging Leaders Inovio Pharmaceuticals
Clarkston Consulting Scholarship Clarkston Consulting
Presidents Service Award Philadelphia Business Journal
Federal Public Official of the Year Award- House Merck
Federal Public Official of the Year Award- Senate Endo Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
State Public Official of the Year Award Endo Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Departure Gift Postgraduate Medicine
Meet & Greet Honoree Reception Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld, LLP
Program Sponsorship The Bravo Group
Clarkston Scholarship Clarkston Consulting

<< Return to Upcoming Events